Sophia Bekele honoured with Champion of Development Award at the 2018 AfricaLink Solidarity Awards in Switzerland

Sophia Bekele, Founder and CEO of DotConnectAfrica Group, has been honoured with Champion of Development Award during the 2018 AfricaLink Solidarity Awards and symposium in Switzerland  for her initiative Miss.Africa Digital Initiative which hundreds of young women and girls have benefited from through training opportunities or applications supported by the Miss.Africa Seed Funding.

Three other leaders and two organizations we also awarded during the same ceremony, they are: Mr. Léonard H. Bindzi, Mr. Osvaldo dos Santos Varela, Ms. Claudinah Ntini Ramosepele while the two organisations are Fund for Development and Partnership in Africa (FEPAFRIKA) and Aiducation International Kenya. Africa Link, a media organisation founded in April 2000, the publisher of Africa Link magazine, and Africalink Online received kudos at its inaugural annual symposium / 2018 SolidarityAwards event for the unique services rendered to the African community in Switzerland and Africa.

Sophia who was represented at the awards by Mrs. Hellen Kahuga-Wakapa. Ms. Bekele said in her written message:

I’m very pleased, humbled and grateful to accept this prestigious award in joining your August body of past recipients. This recognition is excellent morale-booster that will encourage me and my team to continue doing our best in our contributions to the development of ICT in Africa.

None of this great effort and accomplishments would have come to fruition without the support of our team on the ground, our participants in the program, our financial supporters and the global network of people and institutions that have recognized our work including Africa Link. Therefore we thank you so much. God Bless you and God Bless Africa.

Africa Link, aka ‘the Voice of Africa in the Diaspora launched its magazine in 2000 focusing on Africa and African related issues, and in 2006 launched the Solidarity Awards to encourage and promote democracy, good governance and development in Africa.

Among the past recipients are: Mr. Raila Odinga, former Prime Minister of Kenya, Ambassador Nozipho January-Bardill, Mr. Martin Graf, former Mayor of Illunia/Effretikon Switzerland, former President Kufuor of Ghana, Thurn/Togo Association, Ambassador Mrs. Khadija Rachida Masri former AU Permanent Observer to UNOG, late President Tijan Kabbah of Sierra Leone, Dr. Martin Ihoeghian Uhomoibhi former Nigeria’s Ambassador to Switzerland and Permanent Representative to UNOG, and  former ITU Secretary-General Dr. Hamadoun I. Touré.

Over the years the categories of the Awards extended to include the recognition and honouring Africans, Friends of Africa and organisations that have made significant contributions to the continent’s social, economic and political developments. It also recognises and honours African diplomats and other players in the African Diaspora Community and the International Community whose contributions have led to the positive appreciation and image of Africa and its people.

Click AfricaLink website For more about the awards.

Related posts

Leave a Comment