United States Imposes Cybersecurity Sanctions on Russia


On December 29, 2016, President Obama issued a new executive order that expands the authority of the US Secretary of Treasury to impose sanctions on individuals and entities for cyber-attacks to maintain cybersecurity reports the Business Advisor.

This action marks the first-time sanctions have been imposed under the Cybersecurity Sanctions Program established on April 1, 2015, with the designation of nine entities and individuals. The new executive order specifically sanctioned five entities and four individuals in Russia for cyber operations aimed at the US election.

The State Department announced that it is denying Russian access to two Russian government-­owned recreational compounds in Maryland and New York and is declaring “persona non-grata” 35 officials from the Russian Embassy in Washington and the Russian Consulate in San Francisco.

According to the New York Times, the State Department announced that these measures were part of a comprehensive response to Russia’s interference in the U.S. election; a pattern of harassment of U.S. diplomats overseas (including arbitrary police stops, physical assault and the broadcast on Russian State TV of personal details about our personnel that put them at risk); and Russian government actions that the State Department maintained impeded U.S. diplomatic operations.


Related posts

Leave a Comment